2018 Title Game: MVP McGhee drives Columbia (GA) over West Anchorage

By Van Williams
Classic Media Director

The more games Lorenzo McGhee played in the Alaska Airlines Classic, the more game we saw from the Columbia guard.

The 6-foot-5 senior increased his point total in all four games, culminating with a 23-point performance to lead the Eagles of Decatur, Georgia, to an 83-46 victory over host West Anchorage in the tournament championship game at West High.

McGhee earned Classic MVP honors and joined teammate Josh Taylor and Delvin Longstreet on the all-tournament team.

Keondre Kennedy pumped in a game-high 25 points to earn player-of-the-game honors for the title tilt.

Coach Phil McCrary’s squad beat four Alaska teams [West Valley, Bartlett, Kodiak and West] by an average of 35.5 points.

Plenty of teams around the country have lost over the years to McCrary, who now has 583 career wins in his historic hoops coaching career.

West was making its third appearance in the Classic championship game since 2015. It was the first under new head coach Josh Muehlenkamp.

The Eagles reached the title game in upset fashion after knocking off Planet Athlete Academy of Phoenix, Arizona, 74-70 the night before. That game was in doubt the whole way.

Tonight’s game was not.

Still, West fought well and played hard in defeat. All 13 players got the big-game experience that will help when the Cook Inlet Conference season tips off next week.

Senior Diondre McMorris scored 11 points and earned a spot on the all-tournament team for the second straight year.

Teammate Devin Mong also had 11 points and Jamari Lawrence chipped in seven points.

West is the last Alaska team to win the Classic championship when the Eagles claimed the 2010 title.

Since then, Lower 48 teams are 7-0 against local teams in the title game.

Columbia 20 34 17 12 – 83
West Anchorage 13 8 11 14 – 46
Columbia – Bey 2, Kennedy 25, McGhee 23, Wills 3, Ceesay 7, Taylor 12, Longstreet 6, Hartley 0, Wiggins 3, Benson 0, Harris 2, Martin Jr. 0
West – DJackson 0, Lawrence 7, McMorris 11, TJackson 0, King 4, Grant 0, Wal 2, Johnson 2, Mong 11, Dak 2, Prater 3, Coleman 2, Snow 2.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: